The Daylight Award 2022

The Daylight Award 2022 launched on 16 May, the UNESCO International Day of Light. The Award honours and supports daylight research and daylight in architecture, for the benefit of human health, well-being and the environment. It places specific emphasis on the interrelation between theory and practice.

Established by the philanthropic foundations, VILLUM FONDENVELUX FONDEN and VELUX STIFTUNG, and endorsed by the UIA, it is conferred biennially in two categories: The Daylight Award for Research and The Daylight Award for Architecture.

The Daylight Award for Research rewards an individual or a group of researchers whose work demonstrates a focus on the impact of daylight on human health and performance. Nominations from researchers from all fields, including natural science, human science or social science, are welcome.

The Daylight Award for Architecture rewards individuals or a group of architects or other professionals whose projects and works showcase unique use of and dedication to daylight. 

The Daylight Award actively solicits nominations from professional organisations, architects, researchers and other professionals with expertise and interest in the field of daylight research and daylight in architecture. The Award also accepts individual nominations from professionals.

Launch – 16 May 2021
The deadline for nominations – 30 September 2021
Jury meeting – November 2021
Announcement of Winners – 16 May 2022

Anne Lacaton (France), Principal of Lacaton & Vassal Architectes
Dorte Mandrup (Denmark), founder of Dorte Mandrup A/S, Copenhagen
Marilyne Andersen (Switzerland), Professor and Dean of the School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Gerd Folkers (Switzerland), Professor, ETH Zurich
Russell Foster (United Kingdom), Director, Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology & Head of the Sleep and Circadian Neuroscience Institut, University of Oxford
Juhani Pallasmaa (Finland), Architect
Koen Steemers (United Kingdom), Professor of Architecture, University of Cambridge

For more details, please visit see the Daylight Award website.



Solidarity with Indonesia

COMMUNIQUÉ2 DECEMBER 2022 Lire la version française The UIA calls for solidarity with Indonesia following deadly earthquake  On Monday 21 November 2022, a 5.9-magnitude earthquake occurred in West Java, Indonesia

UIA Newsletter – 17 March 2022

UIA INTERNATIONAL FORUM 2022: EARLY BIRD REGISTRATION Registration is now available for the UIA 2022 International Forum ‘Affordable Housing Activation: Removing Barriers’ to be held in Madrid, Spain from 18 to 20 May 2022.Until 21 March,

Launch: National Round, Golden Cubes Awards, 5th Ed.

UIA PRIZES8 MARCH 2022 2023 UIA GOLDEN CUBES AWARDS: NATIONAL CALL FOR PROJECTS The UIA Work Programme Architecture & Children launched the National Phase of the 5th edition of the Golden Cubes Awards with a webinar on 25

UIA 1st Quarterly Report for 2022

See online version22 February 2022UIA 1st Quarterly Report for 2022In its continued efforts to unite, influence and advance the architectural profession, the UIA has committed to sending quarterly reports to


Online Version   UIA COMPETITIONS18 JANUARY 2022 INTERNATIONAL ACCESSIBILITY SYMBOL DESIGN COMPETITION INTERNATIONAL ACCESSIBILITY SYMBOL DESIGN COMPETITION The International Union of Architects (UIA) and Rehabilitation International (RI) are jointly inviting submissions for a twenty-first century symbol