Launch: National Round, Golden Cubes Awards, 5th Ed.

The UIA Work Programme Architecture & Children launched the National Phase of the 5th edition of the Golden Cubes Awards with a webinar on 25 February. The triennial Awards “honor those who help children and young people to understand architecture.”

Attributed in four categories – InstitutionsSchoolsWritten Media and Audio Visual Media– entrants are invited to describe “activities (courses, classes, events, etc.) or products (publications, tools, games, kits, guides, films, computer programmes, etc.) designed to teach children and young people about architecture and the built environment.”  If an entry is relevant to more than one category, it must be submitted separately to each category.
The activity or event must be currently active. Alternatively, an event which has taken place or a product that has been produced between March 2020 and March 2023 can be entered in the Awards.  

The Golden Cubes Awards entry procedure is divided into two selection processes: National and International.

National professional associations are encouraged to issue a public call for entries at the national level and to appoint a National Jury in coordination with the UIA Architecture and Children Work Programme and the UIA General Secretariat before 1 June 2022.

A National Jury consisting of 5 members (3 architects with experience in interdisciplinary activities and children’s education, 2 non-architects specialised in children’s activities and/or communication) are appointed by each National Member Section. Prizes at the national level are at the discretion of the National Jury.

INTERNATIONALEntries which are selected to progress through the International selection process* will be uploaded to the UIA Submission Platform (LINK), where they will be evaluated by an international jury, which will select one winner per category.  All materials submitted at the International level must be in English.

The winners will be officially recognised at the Awards Ceremony at the end of triennial UIA Congress taking place in Copenhagen, Denmark, July 2023.

*Entries from Professional Associations which are not members of the UIA may be collected by one local architectural organisation and submitted to the UIA following the instructions

Entries from countries with no National Nomination Process: Contact the Co-Directors for further instruction.

Carla Rinaldi (Italy), Pedagogue, President of Reggio Children
Angela Uttke Million (Germany), Professor
Krisztina Somogyi (Hungary), Communication specialist and member of Architecture & Children UIA Work Programme
Jorge Raedo (Colombia), Media Specialist
Heba Safey Eldeen (Egypt), Co-Director, Architecture & Children UIA Work Programme
Ken-ichi Suzuki (Japan), Professor, Nagoya City University
Peter Exley (USA), Past President of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and Co-Founder of Architecture is Fun
25 February 2022: Announcement of the launch of the National Call for Projects/Entries
1 June 2022: Deadline for notifying the UIA General Secretariat and the UIA Architecture & Children Work Programme of participation of national association at the national level
15 March 2023: deadline for national submissions to the International level
April 2023: International Jury meeting and Announcement of winners
2-6 July 2023: UIA Congress in Copenhagen, Denmark and Awards Ceremony
For more information